Momma’s Famous Sweet Iced Tea

Standard

When I asked my son what he thought I should put on my blog, this is how the conversation went:

Mom: Hey buddy, do you have something in mind that I should put on my blog? Maybe something that is your favorite?

Boy: My Momma’s Famous Sweet Tea.

Mom: Umm, well, I will have to see about that. Anything else?

Boy: Well, mom, all little boys should have great sweet tea made by their momma’s. I am a lucky kid!

Here’s a picture of that lucky, tea lovin’ kid and his lucky momma!

Well, after that exchange my heart was full and how could I not share my technique for making sweet iced tea. I may have my “southern lady” card plucked out of my wallet if I say this, but… I do not drink tea. I just dont care for the taste. GASP!!! I know, I know! It is terrible of me. I had to learn how to make sweet tea. I didn’t like it, so I never made it growing up. Then I met The Husband. He loves it! Then we had The Boy. He Loves it, too. So, even though I do not like tea, I make a lot of it.

The Boy and his dad have called my tea “Momma’s Famous Sweet Tea” for as long as I can remember. I’m not sure who made it famous or whom it is famous among, but I even have a sign in my kitchen that claims that love and sweet tea are served daily. I once grumbled about making tea and was told if I didn’t it would be unethical! I politely smiled and thought to myself…EXCUSE ME, HAVE SOME WATER! But, the sign! My husband pointed to the sign, with a huge smile and claimed it would be deception in advertising! So off I go, happy as can be, that my family loves me and my sweet tea…

  1. I use a gallon of bottled water, we have well water and it does not taste the best. A gallon of water will turn into a gallon of tea.
  2. Pour 6 cups of water in a microwave safe glass bowl or pitcher.
  3. Put 4 family sized tea bags in the water
  4. Place water and tea bags in the microwave and cook on high for 4 minutes
  5. Let the water and tea bags steep (just hang out and sit there) for about 20 minutes (sometimes more or less, depending on my time schedule).
  6. Pour the tea into your serving pitcher. I love this one: http://www.pamperedchef.com/ordering/prod_details.tpc?prodId=29280&words=pitcher
  7. Add 2 cups of sugar, yup 2 cups! Your tea should be still pretty warm, which will make the sugar dissolve wonderfully.
  8. Stir
  9. Add the other 10 cups of water and stir again! and then a little more stiring…
  10. Fill up a glass with ice and pour yourself a glass of Momma’s Famous Sweet Tea. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

