Zippy Zucchini Bread

Standard

My cousin Julie is much older and wiser than I am. At least I thought so as a child and teenager. We seem to be pretty close to the same age now. Isn’t it funny how that happens? One evening while hanging out with her, she offered me some Zucchini Bread. I turned my nose up and refused. That, in no way sounded appealing to me! I mean, who wants to eat a green squash in a sweet bread! Not this girl! She continued to pressure me, I kept refusing! I don’t exactly recall what happened after that. I’m pretty sure she held me down and shoved it in my mouth! You know how cousins are. OK, maybe she didn’t hold me down, but somehow she got me to taste this squash infested bread! And… And… It was THE most wonderful thing I had tasted! Truly awesome! It’s like banana bread on steroids! Somedays I long for it so much I can almost smell it. Julie found the recipe in the First United Methodist Church Cookbook of Winnsboro, Texas and the recipe was submitted by our grandmother’s sweet friend Jackie Thompson.

Zippy Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:
1 Cup corn oil

1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

3 eggs

2 cup sugar

2 cup flour

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1 tsp. Cinnamon

1 tsp. Nutmeg

1 cup dry quick oats

1 cup nuts (I used coarsely chopped walnuts)

2 cup zucchini squash, cooked

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325

  • in a small mixing bowl blend the oil, vanilla and eggs.
  • In a large mixing bowl stir together sugar, flour, soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, oats and nuts, until all ingredients are well blended.
  • add cooked and chopped zucchini and the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until well combined.
  • Pour into 5 – 3×9 pans, or fill any loaf pan 2/3 full.
  • Bake at 325 for 55 minutes.

Instead of the large loaf pans, I bake six mini loaves, and 24 mini muffins. I bake the mini muffins for 15 minutes and the mini loaves about 25 minutes.

Really! Give it a try! You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

