Mmmm Mmmm Potato Soup

Standard

My mom tells a story that when my parents were first married, she was working with my dad’s brother and sister-in-law at their family owned flower shop. My dad called one day to ask if she could stop by the grocery store to pick up the items to make potato soup and some orange soda pop, too. My mom said she would and proceeded to tell my aunt and uncle what he had requested and they looked at her and laughed and said your new husband is sick. That is what he always asks for when he is sick! Growing up, when anyone in the household was sick you could always count on some hearty potato soup to make the day brighter.

My own family now enjoys this soup. We even eat it when we are healthy (GASP!). My husband, who is the typical “meat and taters, don’t you dare give me a salad” kind of man, has stated that anytime I want to make him Mikey’s Potato Soup, go ahead, don’t even ask. I’m so sweet, I shared my cold with my husband a few days ago. So what did I do, whipped up my man some good Potato Soup. But really, who can resist a soup with bacon? Really?!

Here’s what you’ll need:

6 large baking potatoes, peeled and cubed, (note: I used a whole 5 lb bag of russet potatoes or about 10 cups of potatoes once diced.)

Here’s how I do it:

1/2 cup onion, chopped

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 Tablespoon of minced garlic

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon celery salt

3/4 teaspoons pepper

  • cover all of the above ingredients with water and boil till potatoes are tender

In the meantime:

  • Fry 8 slices of bacon, save 6 Tablespoons of bacon grease
  • Crumble bacon and set aside, save a little to garnish the top of the of each bowl.

Make a white sauce:

  • in a small sauce pan combine 6 tablespoons of the bacon grease you saved and
  • 2 tablespoons flour.
  • Stir till that is nice and bubbly, then
  • add 2 cups of milk.
  • continue to stir until it simmering

Once potatoes are tender strain excess water and return to large stockpot.

Add the white sauce and crumbled bacon mash and stir, mash and stir, till you have the texture you want your soup to be…

Top with grated cheddar cheese and more crumbled bacon… VWalllaaahh!!

Enjoy with some fresh cornbread and if you are my dad, with some orange soda pop!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

