Menu for the week, Favorite Spaghetti, Classic Brownies and a little about me…

Standard

I am Mrs. Langley.
This is my first adventure in blogging and I thought it would be a great way to start the new year.

Who is Mrs. Langley? There she is! That lady right there!!

The Hip Home Ec Teacher

Mrs. Langley REALLY is a home economics teacher of 11 years, we call it Family and Consumer Sciences these days, to be politically correct. But still, I am a high school teacher of all things relating to the family, heart, home and more. By day, I teach courses in Child Development, Human Growth and Learning, Fashion Design, Interior Design, Nutrition and Food Science. By night, I try my best to be a good Christian example, fabulous wife to Big L and super mom to Little L, chef and housekeeper of my casa, a rodeo mom, preemie mom, thyroid cancer survivor, avid reader and a crafty woman extraordinaire. We live in a rural area of Texas, we call The Ridge and we are surrounded by trees, our oh, so loved animals and the three of us Langley’s. It’s 15 minutes to the closest store and that would be a gas station, tack on another 5 minutes to get to the nearest grocery store. And we love it that way!

Whats on the menu this week at the Langley household, you ask?


Monday – Slow Cooker Spaghetti (Recipe below, super easy) Garlic Bread, Tossed Salad

Tuesday – Left over Spaghetti! Microwave individual plates until steamy or pop into the oven until throughly heated! Woo Hoo, gotta love that!

Wednesday – Potato Soup (recipe to come later this week) and Corn Bread, Soup with bacon, who could ask for more!!

Thursday – Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches, left over potato soup. Just keeping it real, folks! We eat leftovers, here on The Ridge!

Friday – Man Tacos (recipe to come) with saffron rice and tossed salad the guys around here love their Man Tacos!

Saturday – Out to Eat! You should go out, too! You deserve it!

Sunday – The Best Ever Pot Roast – In the Slow Cooker – seriously the best everrrr, come back for the recipe later in the week!

Here’s a couple of recipes to get you going this week…

Pull out that old Crock Pot(c) and put it to use. Seriously, I don’t know how people who work full-time, have time to come home and prepare a great dinner for their family without this wonderful kitchen appliance! I use mine at least 3 times a week, normally, sometimes more! Slow Cooker Spaghetti is one of my “go to” recipes. It’s always a hit with my guys, the little guy especially.

Ingredients:

2 pounds ground beef, browned and drained

1 large onion or 2 small onions, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced, (maybe even more if you like garlic like me, I add 3!)

2 – 28 ounce cans of tomato sauce

1 Tablespoon Italian seasoning (it’s in the spice isle of the grocery store already mixed up in a happy little bottle and waiting on you)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Grated Parmesan Cheese

16 ounces of Dry Spaghetti

  • Special tools I like to use with this recipe:
  • Mix ‘n Chop from Pampered Chef. This is my favorite little tool lately. It is great for cooking up ground beef and sausage. It chops it as you cook to the perfect size pieces! Get it here: www.pamperedchef.com
  • Slow Cooker, such as a Crock Pot

Directions:

  1. Combine all (except cheese and spaghetti) ingredients in the slow cooker and stir well.
  2. Cover and cook on Low for 6-8 hours or High for 3-5 hours. In other words put it on in the morning and it will be so happy to see you when you get home from work, just setting there on the counter, waiting on you.
  3. About 30 minutes before you are ready to eat, boil water and add spaghetti, cook according to package directions.
  4. Plate the spaghetti and top with freshly grated Parmesan cheese or go for the stuff out of the can, whatever you prefer, no one here will judge you.
  5. Enjoy with garlic bread and a simple salad.

If you have ever taken one of my cooking classes, you would remember these. This is the first thing we make in my cooking classes. It’s fun, everyone loves brownies, it is hard to mess up, but at the same time it uses several different techniques, like using dry measuring cups, using liquid measuring cups, greasing the pan and more. Students often email me after they have graduated and ask me to send a certain recipe that we prepared in class. 90% of the time, it is these brownies they are looking for. I have students that have the recipe memorized. MEMORIZED! (Shout out to Reba! My chef in the making former student and current friend). That’s how much these brownies are loved!

Ingredients:

1 cup oil

6 tablespoons Cocoa

4 eggs

2 cups sugar

2 Tablespoons corn syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1-1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease a 9×13 baking dish (hint: to grease pan, take a paper towel, dip it down into a can of Crisco (vegetable shortening) and get about 1-2 Tablespoons on your paper towels. Smear the pan with the Crisco and get every nook and cranny of the pan, throw away the greasy paper towel)
  3. in a medium bowl mix together oil, cocoa, eggs, sugar, corn syrup and vanilla, set aside.
  4. In a small mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.
  5. Pour the dry ingredients into the chocolate mixture and mix until just combined well. Don’t over stir, this will cause a tough, weird texture to your brownies.
  6. Pour into the greased pan and place in the middle of the oven to bake, I mean smack dab in the middle of oven. Placing them in the middle of the oven allows for the heated air to circulate all around the pan evenly and therefore, cooking evenly and giving you the best most evenly cooked brownies.
  7. Bake 30 minutes.
  8. Enjoy some fresh hot brownies, maybe with some ice cream, maybe with some hot fudge sauce drizzled on top, or caramel sauce, the possibilities are endless, but I like mine just plain.

Check back daily. I have more recipes and I’m working on some more step by step pictures! This blog is a work in progress! Thanks for stopping by and checking it out. I hope you had a little fun while you were here. Feel Free to comment below and follow the blog to receive emails each time I post. Have a GREAT day and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Mrs. Langley

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for starting a blog! I found you through my cousin, Tina, and I’m always looking for cooking inspiration. Well done!

  2. Congrats on expanding your world with a blog! I will so enjoy reading it and keeping up, although I have to admit that with my (relic) degree in Home Ec, my last food’s course was as a freshman in high school. Joby gave me a sign for Christmas that reads “My next kitchen will only have vending machines!” Keep up the good work…proud of you!

    Maggi

Leave a Reply

